top of page
Search
  • Sylvia

Above the Door

We all know the medical symbol of a snake around a staff, right? But why should the other animals get left out. Walking through Stockholm, I noticed a couple of storefronts with interesting 3-D animals above their doors. The first ones I found were over corner doors (meaning the entrance is diagonal to the corner), so there was a good view from the north/south street as well as the east/west street. Each of these doors had a three-dimensional animal above them. I know very little about architectural design, so I don't know if this kind of corner door is a specific architectural feature. If you know, I hope you can tell me more! In this one, it's a an iron cat.




Did you notice the snake lurking in each of those? Turns out, these sites were previously (and the one with the Owl, still) pharmacies! That got me looking for other examples!


I found one with a golden moose, but no snake.



I even found one, in Copenhagen. This one is still a pharmacy. It had a unicorn, and no snake. Maybe the unicorn has such powerful magic, it doesn't need the snake?


And then there were these two doorways. They aren't connected to pharmacies. But I just love the use of the corner door.


The beauty of walking through a city is that we get plenty of time to notice these sights!

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page